Create Reflection

iNacol, the International Association for Online Learning, publishes Standards for Quality Online Teaching.

Consider the following standards:

Standard B: The online teacher understands and is able to use a range of technologies, both existing and emerging, that effectively support student learning and engagement in the online environment.

Standard C: The online teacher plans, designs, and incorporates strategies to encourage active learning, application, interaction, participation, and collaboration in the online environment.

Standard E: The online teacher models, guides, and encourages legal, ethical, and safe behavior related to technology use.

Standard K: The online teacher arranges media and content to help students and teachers transfer knowledge most effectively in the online environment.

 

Answer in a complete paragraph response: How has the Create module prepared you to meet each standard listed above? Link to or provide specific examples from your work in Create. What strategies will you take away from the Create module and apply to your teaching?  What lessons were most beneficial for you?

Standard B  The Create module helped me prepare to meet this standard specifically because of Section 2: Web Tools. The specific lesson that I will apply to my online teaching is the Create 2: Web Tools for Differentiation of  Student Assessment.  This lesson specifically supports the standards and has allowed me to think of different ways to assess students that is not the typical multiple choice test.  This was beneficial for me, as I do this in my traditional classroom as summatives but would love to do something like this as a formative.

Standard C:  The Create module helped me prepare to meet this standard specifically because of Section 1: Planning. The specific lesson that I will apply to my online teaching is the Create 1- Content Map. I have never worked with content mapping and found it fascinating and easy to use. I enjoyed being able to add as much or as little as I wanted to the concept map. I am looking forward to coming up with a template that I can use a go to.

Standard E The Create model helped me to prepare to meet this standard specifically because of Section 3: Open Educational Resources. The specific lesson that I will apply to my online teaching is the Create 3: Fair Use and TEACH Act. This lesson specifically allowed me to better understand the Fair Use laws and the TEACH Act. With this information I can model good digital citizenship for my students, and hold  my students accountable according to Fair Use.

Standard KThe Create module helped me prepare to meet this standard specifically because of Section 4: Learning Object Authoring.  The specific lesson that I will apply to my online teaching is the Create 4: Aggregating Lesson Material. This lesson specifically allowed me to think which CMS and LMS will help me arrange resources and content while also being able to teach through the system. The strategies that I will take away from this lesson and those in Create 4, are that I need to make sure that the digital tools that I author are easy to use, can be used throughout the course and contribute an effective learning experience to students.

Leave a Reply

