Communicate Reflection

iNacol, the International Association for Online Learning, publishes Standards for Quality Online Teaching.

Consider the following standards:

Standard C:The online teacher plans, designs, and incorporates strategies to encourage active learning, application, interaction, participation, and collaboration in the online environment.

 

Standard D:The online teacher promotes student success through clear expectations, prompt responses, and regular feedback.

 

Standard E: The online teacher models, guides, and encourages legal, ethical, and safe behavior related to technology use.

 

Standard J: The online teacher interacts in a professional, effective manner with colleagues, parents, and other members of the community to support students’ success.

 

Standard K: The online teacher arranges media and content to help students and teachers transfer knowledge most effectively in the online environment.

Answer in a complete paragraph response: How has the Communicate module prepared you to meet each standard listed above? Link to or provide specific examples from your work in Communicate. What strategies will you take away from the Communicate module and apply to your teaching?  What lessons were most beneficial for you??

 

Standard C: The communicate module helped me prepare to meet this standard specifically because of Section 2: Communication in the Online Classroom.  The specific lesson that I will apply to my online teaching is the Communicate 2-Synchronous Sessions. This lesson specifically allowed me to think how to create/transform an in class assignment to an interactive online one. Digital tools help to make synchronous learning possible.

Standard D: The communicate module helped me prepare to meet this standard specifically because of  Section 3: Communicate as Feedback. The specific lesson that I will apply to my online teaching is the Communicate 3- Digital Feedback. This lesson coupled with the others, especially rubrics, allowed me to think about the various ways I can provide feedback to students and why it is so important to to provide it. I don’t get to see the student’s in the hallway in passing.

Standard E: The communicate module helped me prepare to meet this standard specifically because of Section 1:Communication Standards. The specific lesson that I will apply to my online teaching is the Communicate 1 Communication Laws The lessons within this sections were beneficial to me as a whole, as it helped me better understand laws and regulations dealing with copyright and fair use. With this knowledge I can better arm myself and properly teach/educate my students in 21st century global digital citizenship.

Standard J: The communicate module helped me prepare to meet this standard specifically because of Section 2: Communication in the Online Classroom. The specific lesson that I will apply to my online teaching is the Communicate 2- Ongoing Communication lesson. This lesson along with  “Homepages” and “News Items”  allowed me to better understand the importance of communicating with ALL stakeholders; not just the students but parents/guardians and admin.

Standard K: The communicate module helped me prepare to meet this standard specifically because of Section 2: Communication in the Online Classroom.  The specific lesson that I will apply to my online teaching is the Communicate 2-Synchronous Sessions. This lesson helped with this standard as well because it allowed me to see the different typed of platforms that allow synchronous learning to occur.

Leave a Reply

